15 October 2010

Panda & The Freak Collapse Into Now

Awesome news today folks – R.E.M.’s 15th album has finally been baptised. According to BBC via Twitter, the album is called Collapse Into Now. Cool title imo, very old-skool R.E.M. Let’s just hope the rest of the record is equally old-skool! According to several blogs, Collapse Into Now will be released sometime in Spring 2011, but this hasn’t been confirmed yet.

While we’re waiting for R.E.M. to start previewing tracks from the new record, The Baseball Project (Scott McCaughey, Peter Buck, Steve Wynn and Linda Pitmon) have offered a free stream of a song “Panda & The Freak” from their second album (which is also due out next year). Even better, ESPN Music has uploaded a HQ video of the same song, performed live at The Maxwell, Hoboken NJ on 12 August 2010; as y’all know, Mike Mills was playing bass instead of Peter Buck. The Baseball Project rocked the house that night; below is the video, so clicky and enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Panda & The Freak Collapse Into Now”

  1. Dol Says:

    The more I read the title, the more I love it! And “Now” was the title chosen by Mike instead of “Accelerate”. At least he won his battle big grin

    And I want the baseball project in Europe again!!!!

  2. Jordan Says:

    I can absolutely confirm the album will be out in the Spring.

  3. Dol Says:

    Hei Jordan, give us more “spicy” news. We promise to keep the secret! big grin

  4. Ivana Says:

    Yeah, please girl! We need more info! I mean, Spring as in: early March (preferably) or late May (eek)?!

Leave a Reply

Filled Under: News & Features